Still training!

I’m in my third week of training for SkyRise, and except for being incredibly exhausted I feel pretty good about the physicality.  I must admit the first time I practiced on the computer course simulating the amount of effort a climber would exert going up the 103 stairs, I was stunned.  The rise is pretty much a forty-five degree angle and I began to sing The Impossible Dream in my head.  But people have been doing this for many years, so clearly it was doable!

Sliding on my newly purchased riding gloves and wrapping my brain around my strategy, I began rotating the handlebars.   My approach was to start with on a high gear requiring a reasonable amount of effort, not easy but also not requiring  Herculean strength, and as the slope of the course increased I would change to lower gears to maintain a constant level of effort the entire ride.  About fourteen minutes into the course sweat, not perspiration, was pouring off me from the crown of my head, over my face and down my chest and back forming what seemed like a wading pool in my seat.  I wondered how long this would take and how much sweat I could give without becoming a breathing desert!

The results were soon to come, twenty-two minutes and twenty-nine seconds!  Not bad for the first run. The staff and my teammates showered me with encouragement and said they looked forward to seeing my next attempt at the course.

So last week I was ready to take on climb.  I’d done my carbo-loading and was prepared to beat my time from the previous week.  As soon as I started the resistance seemed too much for the bottom of the slope and it was too soon to change gears.  But the effort required for each rotation was increasingly intense.  What was happening?  Was the first ride a fluke?  Beginners luck? I buckled my mind into the ride knowing it was going to be tough.  When I completed the course in thirty minutes everyone looked puzzled – including me!  I wondered if there was a problem with the cycle and asked one of the staff to investigate my wheels.

Before I arrived home I received a text explaining that the device that holds the cycle in a stationary position had produced an unnecessary drag on the cycle and was already repaired.

So like the Chicago Cubs, the 2016 National Baseball League Champions, I’m encouraged that with a great staff behind me and supportive fans I will run a good race on November 6th.

You still have the time to support me!  Just click on this link  http://ric.convio.net/site/TR/SkyRise/General?fr_id=1130&pg=pfind

My participant name is: Antoinette (Toni) Daniels

Goal: $1,500.00

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Still training!

  1. Virginia Peacock says:

    Hi Toni,

    Good to hear about your training. You are really making a heroic effort to do this.

    I’m going to be in Toronto doing a training this week, so will not be free to call on Wednesday this week again. Sorry. I’ll tell you about it when back.

    Ginny

    On Oct 23, 2016 7:04 PM, “The Calligraphy of Life” wrote:

    > thecalligraphyoflife posted: “I’m in my third week of training for > SkyRise, and except for being incredibly exhausted I feel pretty good about > the physicality. I must admit the first time I practiced on the computer > course simulating the amount of effort a climber would exert going u” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

