Ride on King Jesus

The week before the presidential election my family’s property in Meridian, Mississippi, was the target of Trump inspired vandalism.  The essence is this:  in 1946 my grandfather built a hotel that provided blacks entertainers on the “Chitlin’ Circuit” not only a domicile but one of the first with suites, rooms with bathrooms, phones in the room and a receptionist.  It was such a landmark facility that the opening ceremony included the following legendary entertainers; Ella Fitzgerald, Count Basie and Dizzy Gillespie. It has been registered as a national landmark and displays a brass plate with this recognition.  On November 3rd, it was vandalized by four white juveniles using spray paint to deface the building.  The graffiti included the following: “Killary Clinton”, “You R homos”, “Black Matters” (trying to implicate black youth)  “Vote Trump” and they tried to obliterate the landmark plaque.   This incident is currently under investigation, doesn’t make the evening news but its happening.  And to someone you know.

I have many friends who are outraged by the election results and are ready to protest, write letters and are looking for ways to hold Trump accountable for his actions. Some of them are so distraught that they are engulfed by anger and are letting their distrust of Trump absorb their energy.  Yes, we must educate ourselves about what Trump is doing, be aware of the intricacies of his rhetoric and respond when and where appropriate.  But I think if we entirely focus our energy on being angry we will be exhausted in a short amount of time and rendered unable to respond.

Do I think we should give Trump a chance?  Yes, I do.  Why?  Because it’s our country we’re talking about.  AND, I think we should remain ask informed questions, ready to hold him accountable for his actions. This is hard work.  But it’s work that needs to be done.

I also believe it’s important to remember that as Christian I have must stand fast on our history and look to God for guidance as did, Moses, Harriett Tubman, Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Martin Luther King, Jr.  I can’t forget who I am and whose I am.

Today in church I soulfully dedicated my solo to president – elect Trump: Ride on King Jesus.  If you aren’t familiar with the lyrics here’s how they read – “Ride on King Jesus, no man canna hinder me.  Ride on King Jesus, ride on, no man canna hinder me”,  I’m clear in my heart, mind and soul that President-elect Trump will not hinder me by stealing away my energy and efforts to have informed conversations with individuals who think differently.  I will trump hate by remembering I am a beloved child of God and by staying open to God directing my steps.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ride on King Jesus

  1. Dave Jarvis says:

    Amen!

    Like

  2. Ronne Hartfield says:

    Regrettably, at other times in human history, woeful events and conditions have been shaped by circumstances that most certainly can and have successfully hindered lives. Let us not embrace passivity. See Rev. Dan Puchalla’s sober post-election sermon at Church of St. Paul and the Redeemer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

