Happy New Year!

2016 was an incredible mix of high-lights, low-lights and lights that provided just enough of a glow to take the next step in this phenomenal journey called life.  Each step has provided the foundation for the next. And the quite confidence I’ve absorbed from meditation has placed me in a context of faith allowing me reach out beyond the horizon to new possibilities.

I was encouraged to spread my wings and take flight in a new atmosphere known as writing; and oh my goodness – started a blog!  Weekly writing prepared me for telling and re-telling the story of my life in various formats for multiple requests: grant for a hand-cycle, application to the Bishop Anderson Program, Clinical Pastoral Education application and Master of Pastoral Studies essay submission.

I recently reviewed this past year with one of my prayer warriors and thought about the many times I felt anxious about the snail pace in which my life discernment was occurring.  But then I saw a saying on a poster, “Stress makes you think everything has to happen now.  Faith reassures you everything happens in God’s timing.” My warrior also reminded me that I’m human and anxiety is all part of the journey.  So I’m embracing it for what it is – one step closer to clarity.

Of course some of the dimmer moments involved letting go of private and public figures that have accompanied me in life and shaped my thoughts.  The well studied journalism and poise of Gwen Ifill; the unsinkable Debbie Reynolds; Muhammed Ali‘s self-confidence; a great dance grove provided by Prince; the wisdom of my dear friend Lon; and the list continues to unravel.

I’ve heard many respond to the recent cascade of public deaths by urging 2016 to end. It’s easy to forget that the end of the calendar year is only a benchmark in time.  For some it’s a finish line, dusting off the memories they don’t wish to carry forward.  While for others the year’s end hallmarks uncertain moments in the  life acknowledged by the completion of earthly relationships, loss of a jobs, alienation from family members and the unknown future of our country.

The good news is we don’t have to wait for the year to end to receive a new beginning.  Our hearts and souls are renewed every morning by the indwelling of Holy Spirit.  “Behold I make all things new.” (Revelations 21:5). Today is one step closer to living into the new existence continually offered to us while rejoicing in the knowledge that we serve a faithful God.

My resolution for the New Year is to coddle the light of Christ which is a flame housed in the gift of grace.

Happy New Year!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Year!

  1. Julie says:

    Beautiful! I look forward to what God is going to do in your life this year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

