I’m making an investment

I just heard an interview on a morning talk show about saving for your retirement and making good investments.  Mostly what they said was that the average American can’t afford to retire. I think the average American can do whatever they want if they aren’t afraid of the unknown that lies ahead. Zig Ziglar, a motivational speaker says, “F-E-A-R has two meanings: ‘Forget Everything and Run’ or ‘Face Everything and Rise.’ The choice is yours.”

I’m choosing to face everything and rise by making an investment in a sure thing—me!  I’m going back to school, yes, I’ve been accepted to the Loyola University, Master of Pastoral Studies Program: Health Care Chaplaincy. I’m not only expecting a great ROI (return on investment) in God’s new call for me, but also place myself in the potter’s hands, open to becoming God’s vessel.  In addition, I expect this new ministry will sustain me through the years that lie ahead.  I believe God is taking all that I am and have been and molding me into a conduit for God’s silent, and sometimes not so silent, presence in the life of those who are physically, spiritually or emotionally in need.

There will be sunrises ahead filled with the light of Christ against the darkness of the world and unimaginable hurdles with the program (#1 securing finances), seeking certification and finding employment.  But I embrace it all as part of the marathon of life as God prepares me to run the good race. Harriet Tubman, the conductor of the Underground Railroad, whose life was dedicated to running the good race said, “Every great dream begins with a dreamer. Always remember, you have within you the strength, the patience, and the passion to reach for the stars to change the world.”  I’m stretching my hands towards the heavens to intermingle with a wind chime of stars strung together by my passion for others to change one life at a time.

Someone asked me when I was visiting a patient one day, “What do you do?”  My response was, “That depends on you.  I can listen to what’s on your heart and mind; I brought my knitting so if you don’t want to talk but just have someone in the room, I can do that; or I can pray with you. It’s your choice.”

By the way, I wrote this on January 2, 2017 as a deposit into my faith account.  I was notified of my acceptance to Loyola on January 4, 2017, 7:38 am.  Only after making a deposit, can I make a withdrawal!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m making an investment

  1. Congrats Toni on your new “investment!” I see great rewards for you~

    Like

  2. Charles Thomas says:

    This is wonderful news! I am inspired by your journey and your act of faith. You will probably run into Lee Hubbell, who is a friend and works for Loyola. He is one of the persons involved in shepherding the pastoral care students, so look out for him. Congratulations!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

