God’s blueprint for life

I constantly talk about God’s plan for my life as if it were a blueprint waiting to be constructed.  With my limited mind and vocabulary for describing God, that’s the best I can do.  But I’ve been wondering – on the most basic level, what is it God’s plan for me?  Is it to be happy?  Well, I don’t think God plans my emotional state because I have the freedom to choose how I’m going to respond to the many twist and turns of life.

What would be the bare bones of God desires for me in life?  Starting with three of God’s promises is a great beginning.  First, with each beat of my heart, I know God’s love for me is steadfast, unconditional, unwavering and freely given. (Psalm 92)  Two, remembering God will never leave my side regardless of how stormy the environment, the severity of the loss, the depth of loneliness, the brightness of the sun, the stillness of the water, or the joy of a life-giving relationship. (Hebrews 13:5b)  And three, “ I am sure that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers,  nor height, nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:38)

Life’s is full of unpredictable peaks and valleys, detours and interruptions; that’s life!  As a Christian I’m not protected from these surprises – bad things happen to faithful people.  However, I do have a companion who will coach me in responding to every situation. “Treat others the way you want to be treated.” (Luke 6:31) and “Love your neighbor as yourself.” (Matthew 12:31)  If I consistently respond to just these two coaching tips, I will live in God’s glory, feel the warmth of God’s love and find strength and wisdom for this journey called life.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to God’s blueprint for life

  1. Carl says:

    Thank you, Toni, for your uplifting message! You go girl!

    Like

  2. Dave Jarvis says:

    In retrospect, I think maybe God’s plan for my life looks more like a Picasso and less like a blueprint!

    Like

Leave a Reply

