Feeding on hope

If you’ve followed my blog over the past couple of weeks then you know I’ve had a few recent disappointments.  And while working though them one of my “prayer warriors” helped me articulate my place in the gospel story;  I’ve been sitting in the Garden of Gethsemane.  She reminded me there was a place for my discouragement by referring me to the most telling lyric from the song “Gethsemane” from the musical Jesus Christ Superstar, “I’m not as sure as when we started.” Listen to Jesus’ lament. https://www.google.com/webhp?sourceid=chrome-instant&ion=1&espv=2&ie=UTF-8#q=youtube+tim+neally+gethsemane   It’s great to have friends to show you where you stand alongside Jesus.

This past week was the last meeting of my theology class.  I have to say I was amazed that I enjoyed studying how our Christian doctrines and thinking have evolved through the centuries.  It was not just the subject matter but how it was presented by a young enthusiastic professor at Loyola, Peter Jones.  A small example of the depth of my professor was his last lecture on “hope.”  He asked us to list adjectives which defined “hope” and then adjectives that described “hopelessness.” The “hopelessness” list was much longer, revealing our collective familiarity.  At the end of his lecture I left the session with two of his thoughts: 1) “Always follow your hope.”  2) When you feel down, find a friend and feed on their hope.”  Wow,  I really needed to hear those words.  God sent my “prayer warrior” to share the lyrics from Jesus Christ Superstar, and let me feed on her hope.

This is why Christian community is important. “A friend is someone who knows the song in your heart, and sings it back to you when you’ve forgotten the words.”

The Lord has risen indeed; Alleluia!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

