I choose to remember

I’m thrilled to have received so many announcements about young people completing high school and college; ready to take on life and new beginnings.  There are four graduates in my family and I’m excited to attend at least one of the ceremonies.  I’m encouraged about the years to come when I see young people embracing their present and eager to encounter the future.

The other day I was in the grocery store waiting in line at the deli counter with a man who was my senior and was walking on a cane.  The server was slow so we had time to strike up a conversation.  He commented on how he hadn’t expected to live to be seventy and what a chore it was to take care of himself.  I wanted to say, “Are you kidding me!  If 50 is the new 30, then 70 is the new 50!”  But I’ve learned to sparingly share my comments on life as people are sometimes not ready to receive my enthusiasm.  So I simply listened to him, and when he said, “I’m sorry the server is spending so much time with my order and making you wait.  But I’m hungry!”  I responded, “Yes, I resemble that remark!”  He laughed and invited me to have a good day.

It’s interesting to me that as we age we often forget that every day is a new beginning.  One of the great things about not being so young is that we can stand on the history of our lives and hopefully some wisdom, as a foundation for engaging each day.  We are aware of the wonders and challenges of nature and the joys and concerns shared with our fellow homo sapiens.  And we know that we don’t know what lies ahead,  and yet move forward with the knowledge that faith is an important aspect of living a full life.  Somehow it’s easy to focus on the disappointments in life rather than the blessings.  Unfortunately we often focus on what we didn’t do or don’t have as opposed to celebrating what we have done and possess.

A good friend of mine always says to me, “Remember what you know!”  I know life is a sequence of unexpected twist and turns.  I know God is always beside me through every challenge and rejoicing with me in every celebration.  To quote a song, “You [God] are the source of my strength. You are the strength of my life.  I lift my hands in total praise to you. Amen.”  I choose to remember that God is my strength, that I’ve done a lot in life and I’m blessed with friends, family, an exciting future and good health.

Life just doesn’t get any better than that as I embrace the journey between the new definitions of age.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I choose to remember

  1. Sally B. Sedgwick says:

    Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

